NIAA Research Council Members



Dr Mike Nathanson

Consultant Anaesthetist, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust


Dr Jonathan Coles

Neuroanaesthesia & Critical Care Society of Great Britain & Ireland

Dr Matthew Davies

The Association of Anaesthetists

Mrs Jenny Dorey

Royal College of Anaesthetists' Lay Committee

Dr Kariem El-Boghdadly

Difficult Airway Society

Professor Tom Engelhardt

Association of Paediatric Anaesthetists of Great Britain & Ireland

Professor Helen Galley

Anaesthetic Research Society

Professor Mike Grocott

Chair, NIAA Board

Professor Judith Hall OBE

Royal College of Anaesthetists Council

Dr Andrew Klein


Dr Gudrun Kunst

Association for Cardiothoracic Anaesthesia and Critical Care

Professor David Lambert

British Journal of Anaesthesia

Dr Alan Macfarlane

Regional Anaesthesia UK

Dr Ronelle Mouton

Vascular Anaesthesia of Great Britain & Ireland

Dr Felicity Plaat

Obstetric Anaesthetists' Association

Dr Bernadette Ratnayake

British Society of Orthopaedic Anaesthetists + NIAA Specialist Society Representative 2019

Dr Sue Walwyn

Society for Education in Anaesthesia UK

Co-opted Members

Dr Annemarie Docherty

Trainee Representative

Ms Sharon Drake

Royal College of Anaesthetists, Director of Clinical Quality & Research

Professor Fang Gao

NIHR Senior Investigator

Professor Mike Grocott

National Institute for Health Research CRN Lead for Anaesthesia

Dr Dan Martin OBE

Academic Training Coordinator

Professor David Menon

NIHR Senior Investigator

Professor Ramani Moonesinghe

Director Health Services Research Centre

Dr Andrew Owen

Trainee Representative

Prof Rupert Pearse

Director, NIAA Clinical Trials Network

Dr Katie Samuel

Chair, Research & Audit Federation of Trainees

Dr Matt Wilson

NIAA Grants Officer

Lt Col Tom Woolley

Royal Centre for Defence Medicine